Provisions

I have been reading the news online and many blogs about the recession. Some bloggers write about recession proofing your pantry, CVS shopping for big bargains and all kinds of helpful information. Our family has always had to be wise with our spending. We have always had enough, but we learned some things the hard way. Those were valuable lessons, because we learned not to make the same mistakes twice. I learned early in my marriage some of the things that younger women are learning now. I believe this is a natural course of life.

My pantry is not what it would be if I were stateside. Here I buy in bulk from mail orders so that I can get some of the things that we need. These orders are not too frequent and I have learned to order quantity to save on shipping. I can’t read the sale ads here and there aren’t the kind of sales here that you have there. I have learned to trust the One who called us here to help me make the best decisions. Sometimes, I stumble upon a great sale and then I stock up. Just this week, I realized that my walnut supply was shrinking. They are so expensive here so I was thinking of learning to do without. On the spur of the moment, I ran into a store where I stock up on frozen veggies. They had 2 large bags of walnuts left on the shelf and they were marked down 50%!!! They are now in my freezer. Everywhere you shop here gives you a point card. I made a little carrying case to keep mine in. I have a gazillion of them and I use them. Today I had enough points to save over $14 on two gifts that I purchased. I was thrilled! So, although my methods are different here, my desires are the same and God knows. He cares and He provides. I am so grateful!

Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or,
What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?
(For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:)
for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.
But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness;
and all these things shall be added unto you.
~Matthew 6:31-33
8 thoughts on “Provisions

  1. Brenda@CoffeeTeaBooks

    I remember reading in some of Edith Schaeffer’s books how they depended on receiving boxes of American foods to supplement their garden in Switzerland.I completely forgot about that until I read your blog tonight!God does provide.

  2. Ivory Spring

    Hello,Blessings to you. I just stumbled across your blog. I have enjoyed it tremendously. I love reading about your life in Japan as God’s ambassador and how He is at work in your life. Love your roses too!Do you mind if I added your blog to my blogroll?

  3. Maggie Ann

    Its a blessing to read about wisdom…and how God makes the difference so special. Walnuts are very expensive here right now…along with rising prices everywhere. That was a blessed post..and encouraging to young women. Although not a young woman, I find I have so much to learn yet…and will as long as I live I’m sure…smile.

  4. Anonymous

    I agree with Maggie Ann’s post. I always find that you have such practical wisdom. Sometimes I feel guilty that I can’t CVS like some of these women. Your post was encouraging. That’s for being so biblical.

  5. Senkyoshi

    Ivory Spring,Thanks for wanting to add me to your blog roll. I would love to “meet” you, but your comment wasn’t linked to your blog.~Senkyoshi

  6. Senkyoshi

    I had 2 anonymous comments that I need to respond to. 1st-Yes, I do know Maggie Ann in real life. I babysat her children many years ago. In fact, more years that I care to think about! 🙂 She is one of the ones that motivated me to start a blog!2nd-Thanks for the info on Ivory Spring. I love her blog! Quilting is a new passion of mine. For some reason, it wasn’t linked from my comment moderator, but noticed that it is on my page. Strange! Anyway, thanks!

Leave a Reply

