90 Days Update

I mentioned in an earlier post that I am trying to read the Bible through in 90 days.  I asked for advice or encouragement in that post and I appreciate the one who commented.  It has helped me to get off to a good start.  I have definitely been tested this first week. We went out of town for a few days and it didn’t go as planned. And…I came home sick.  Since I knew we were going out of town, I decided to get ahead.  I thought that would be easier than getting behind and playing catch up.  As a result of being ill, I have had extra time to read.  I haven’t always felt like it, but as I began to read, I found I couldn’t stop.

Reading the Bible in these large chunks is pushing me in a way I have never been pushed before, but the rewards have been great.  I have asked the Lord to increase my appetite for His Word and He is answering that prayer.  I am making connections to different things in the Word that I have never made before.  I am seeing the big picture and it is a sight to behold.

Leviticus was a hard read at first.  The more I read, the more my heart swelled with gratitude for the one time sacrifice that Christ made for me and for the freedom that I have in Him.  I am now in Deuteronomy and God’s faithfulness is leaping off every page.

I am so grateful that I decided to take this challenge.  Even if I don’t finish in exactly 90 days, the experience is worth the effort.  If you would like to join me, it is not too late.  Grab a schedule here, and start counting your 90 days from today.  Be sure to leave a comment below so I can pray for you and we can encourage one another.

*****

“Know therefore that the Lord thy God, he is God, the faithful God, which keepeth covenant and mercy with them that love him and keep his commandments to a thousand generations;” ~Deuteronomy 7:9

3 thoughts on “90 Days Update

  1. The tip in your original post of reading God’s Word in 90 days of listening to it was a great one. I am doing that this year and find it great ~ actually hearing Alexander Scourby pronounce the names is great. :0) Not reading God’s Word in 90 days but simply listening & following along at a tad slower pace. :0)
    Keep up the good read.

  2. I’ve only recently ever heard about this practice and have never done it so far. I don’t know if you read the blog Rooted Thinking, but Joel Arnold just wrote about it recently there. I can see how it would be helpful. I just finished Leviticus – that would definitely be a hard one to take in big chunks. I wouldn’t stress over trying to get it in exactly 90 days, but just taking it in bigger portions as time allows. I’ve never thought of trying it but I like hearing how it is going for you. Maybe one day I will.

Leave a Reply

