Hobby Time

I have lots of hobbies, but not so much time.  =/  One of my favorite past times when I am stateside is Goodwill shopping.  It is difficult for us to find clothes in Japan so we like to “stock up” when we are stateside.  My husband has lost over 100 pounds.  Needless to say, he needs an entire wardrobe.  That can be expensive unless you shop at thrift shops.   I’ve had a few great finds this furlough.  Last fall, I found a Joseph Banks sports coat for my hubby in his new size for $6.99!!!  I also found an Orvis denim dress that was new for $6.99.  Last week, I found 3 skirts, 1 top and a blazer for cheap, cheap, cheap!!!  They were all brands that you would find at a major department store.  Sometimes I don’t find anything and other times I hit the jackpot!  How about you?  Do you like to go to Goodwill?  I would love to hear of your experiences.

2 thoughts on “Hobby Time

  1. Becka

    We love to shop at thrift stores too and have found many “treasures” there. I buy most of my clothes, clothes for the grandchildren, gently used toys, books, cooking equipment, etc. Our daughter and her husband live in Michigan near Detroit and we have found some great buys while thrifting with her. It is a wonderful way the Lord provides to stretch our dollars.

  2. Great deals! I don’t find many clothes there – the plus sizes all look like little old lady clothes, or at least they have when I have looked. But I’ve known friends who clothed their whole families at thrift stores. I used to shop for kids’ clothes there when my boys were small and found many great deals, but once they got to the age when elbows and knees wore out quickly, it was hard to find anything used and I stopped going regularly. Nowadays I don’t go often because I come back out with a lot of decorating things I don’t need. 🙂 But just last week I pulled out something I bought at a thrift store a year or two ago and finally had the perfect spot for it.

Leave a Reply

