Sunday Meditation on Prayer

I mentioned here before that my theme for the year is prayer.  I am currently working my way through an online Bible study as well as working on some Scripture memory goals.  I am always amazed how the Lord meets me where I am at to meet my deep needs.  Many of the things I am working on keep overlapping.  It is so exciting to see the Lord work in this way.  One of the chapters from the Bible study this week had a long section about sitting quietly before the Lord.  The timing was perfect.  Here is an edited version.  I pray that it may stir something in your soul as it did mine.

img_24141-e1294944471955Prayers Where I Don’t Speak At All

I’d slipped into a habit of praying circumstance-oriented prayers where I’d list out every problem and ask God to please fix them…In a huff one day, I sat down to pray and had absolutely no words. None. I sat there staring blankly. I had no suggestions. I had no solutions. I had nothing but quiet tears…Eventually, God broke through my worn-out heart. A thought rushed through my mind and caught me off guard, I know you want Me to change your circumstances, Lysa.  But, right now I want to focus on changing you. Even perfect circumstances won’t satisfy you like letting Me change the way you think. I didn’t necessarily like what I heard during this first time of silently sitting with the Lord, but at least I felt I was connecting with God. I hadn’t felt that in a long time. And so, to keep that connection,…I started making it a habit to sit quietly before the Lord. Sometimes I cried. Sometimes I sat with a bad attitude.  Sometimes I sat with a heart so heavy I wasn’t sure I’d be able to carry on much longer. But as I sat, I pictured God sitting there with me. He was there already and I eventually sensed that. I experienced what the apostle Paul taught when he wrote, “In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express” (Romans 8: 26). As I sat in silence, the Spirit interceded with perfect prayers on my behalf. I didn’t have to figure out what to pray or how to pray about this situation that seemed so consuming. I just had to be still and sit with the Lord. And during those sitting times, I started to discern changes I needed to make in response to my circumstances…

~TerKeurst, Lysa (2010-12-21). Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food (pp. 113-114). Zondervan. Kindle Edition.

Leave a Reply

