Delighting in Obedience

Continuing on with the Made to Crave Bible study, Lysa encourages us to not be defined by a number on the scale (or anything else), but by our obedience to God.  This was a good thought for me this week.  There are other areas in my life that I am working on besides the weight.  The weight is coming off slowly.  Why does it always come off slower than it went on???  HA!!  Anyway, this week, I’m challenging myself to think about successes more than failures.  It’s so easy to get in a slump when we are constantly meditating on our failures.  Have you sinned?  Confess it and move on.

In children’s church, we are studying about Moses and the Israelites.  If you think on their history, there is a vicious cycle.  They sinned.  They had consequences.  They cried out to God.  He forgave them.  They sinned.  They had consequences.  They cried out to God.  He forgave them.  I’m not saying this as a justification for sin, but as an encouragement that we are not the only ones.  It’s been an encouragement to me this week to meditate on that.  God stilled loved them.  His steadfast love NEVER wavered.   So what are you working on in your life.  No matter what the problem, (not obeying traffic laws, anger, food issues, etc.) God has the answer in his Word and He wants our complete obedience.

I will leave you today with this little song we are singing in children’s church.  It’s so perfect for me this week.  I’ve been going over and over it in my mind.  Obedience really is the very best way to show that we believe God!

Obedience is the very best way to show that you believe.

Doing exactly what the Lord commands, Doing it happily.

Action is the key, do it immediately. Joy you will receive.

Obedience is the very best way to show that you believe.

O-B-E-D-I-E-N-C-E,

Obedience is the very best way to show that you believe.

~Mike and Ruth Greene

OBSBlogHop

5 thoughts on “Delighting in Obedience

  1. I can really jump in there with you on looking at my failures. There is so much good and we dwell on one thing. Isn’t God good – He is teaching you from two directions and I see that too or maybe as I get closer to Him, I find so many things our pastor says that goes right along with our studies. Thanks for sharing and love the Obedience song the kids are singing. Debbie W. (OBS Team Leader/Facebook Group Leader/Blog Hop Team)

  2. Beth H. (Made to Crave group 30)

    Thank you for our post! We are also studying Moses and the Israelites in the children’s church I teach–and our lesson this past Sunday was “I will obey!” It’s such an important reminder for us all.

  3. Your title convicted me. Too often, at least in areas like food, I obey with reluctance and having to “make” myself do so, and only rejoice in it afterward. I’ve asked (and need to keep asking) God to give me a heart that delights to do the right thing in the first place.

Leave a Reply

