Tribute

drgusLast week, my former dean, professor and mentor met his Saviour.  I shared a post about him a few years ago here.  It would be impossible to put into words the thoughts I have about Dr. Gus and the influence he and his family have had on me. The one thing I remember the most is that he always encouraged me. I was not the typical fine arts major. I didn’t have any background at all in fine arts, but I loved it and decided to major in it my sophomore year. He made me feel like I had abilities that could be used for the Lord. I will always be grateful for that. He had such outstanding talent, but yet he was one of the most humble men I have ever known.  One of my favorite memories of him is his rendition of ‘My Old Flame’ my freshman year. I could not believe that such a dignified, talented man could give a performance like that. HA! I loved it and delight in telling my children about it!

You can view his funeral here.  The service is a beautiful tribute that features some his music.  There is a tribute page to him here.  It will take me days to get through it all, but I want to.  I want to remember and give thanks.

*****

It is better to go to the house of mourning, than to go to the house of feasting: for that is the end of all men; and the living will lay it to his heart.  Sorrow is better than laughter: for by the sadness of the countenance the heart is made better.  The heart of the wise is in the house of mourning; but the heart of fools is in the house of mirth. – Ecclesiastes 7:2-4

One thought on “Tribute

  1. Maggie ann

    Your tribute tells of a special man who made life a more special experience. I’m glad he was such a blessing to you. May the Lord Give strength and comfort.

Leave a Reply

