My Identity in Christ

One of this week’s Made to Crave assignments is to come up with a list of identity statements of what I am in Christ.  I loved this assignment.  Chapter 5 was by far my favorite chapter so far.  I am so tired of living in defeat in more areas than just my eating.  This chapter got my attention and she used verses from Ephesians 1, no less.  I have been trying to memorize Ephesians chapter 1, but it has been slow-going.  There are so many similar phrases.  That along with the long sentences makes it challenging to say the least.  I love when the Lord emphasizes what He wants me to know.  This week was one of those weeks.  I’ve included some significant statements from chapter 5 and then some of my identity statements that I see in Ephesians 1 and 2.  I would love to hear some of yours in the comments.  Remember, “we were made for more…”

Significant Statements:

“God, I recognize I am made for more than the vicious cycle of being ruled by food [insert whatever controls you here]. I need to eat to live, not live to eat. So, I keep asking for Your wisdom to know what to eat and Your indwelling power to walk away from things that are not beneficial for me.” ~pg. 52

“The real reason for grounding ourselves in the truth that we are made for more is ‘so that you may know him better.’ The more we operate in the truth of who we are and the reality that we were made for more, the closer to God we’ll become.” ~pg. 54

“…the apostle Paul asks that light be shed upon our hearts so we can more clearly recognize the hope and power available to us.” ~pg. 54

Kim is…

blessed (Ephesians 1:3)

chosen, holy, blameless, loved (1:4)

predestinated, adopted (1:5)

accepted, beloved (1:6)

redeemed, forgiven (1:7)

in Christ (1:10)

an heir (1:11)

for the praise of God’s glory (1:12)

sealed (1:13)

a purchased possession (1:14)

quickened [made alive] (2:1)

loved (2:4)

saved (2:5)

God’s workmanship (2:10)

not afar off, but made nigh [near, close] (2:13)

made new (2:15)

reconciled (2:16)

and the list goes on…

“Because of this, I can’t allow myself to partake in anything that negates my true identity.” ~pg. 53

TerKeurst, Lysa (2010-12-21). Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food. Zondervan. Kindle Edition.

OBSBlogHop

9 thoughts on “My Identity in Christ

  1. This was so good! I’m going to read through Ephesians 1&2 for myself & make my own list. In earlier years I dealt with feeling inferior to others & was pretty sure I was nothing to the Lord. As I’ve matured & learned to listen to the Holy Spirit, I’ve learned more about who I am in Christ, so this little exercise will be perfect for reaffirming those things in my life. Thanks for posting!

  2. Carolyn

    Chapter 5 has also been a favorite of mine. I just finished reading it this afternoon. I’ve not done the Blog hop but looked at the email today about it and spotted your blog! 🙂

  3. I think Ephesians 1 has been one of the hardest chapters for me to memorize so far. But it is rich! So I’m not giving up on it yet.

    I love, love your list of who we are in Christ from Ephesians. Makes me feel so blessed.

  4. Doesn’t that just bring tears to my eyes! So true, every bit of it. I’m going to journal some of these for my own personal help if you don’t mind. hugs from k. Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

