Made to Crave, Week 1

I mentioned before that I am participating in the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study.  I already owned the book, so decided to jump in.  There are way too many comments to wade through, so I am gleaning what I can from the leaders and the material made available along with the book.  It just started, but I am already seeing the Lord work.  I believe that He led me here and that He has things for me to learn.

A Bible study leader in my home church used to encourage us to pick 5 significant statements from a chapter when we are reading.  This is something that I have tried to continue doing over the years in my Bible study reading.  It makes you go over the material and pick out what is important and helpful to you.  I usually highlight way more than 5 statements, so I am forced to think about what is the chapter that I want to take away with me.

Here are some my significant statements:

From Intro:

1.   On Jesus and the rich young man:  “I imagine Jesus looked straight into this young man’s soul and said, ‘I want you to give up the one thing you crave more than me. Then come, follow me.’” ~pg. 15

2.   Getting healthy isn’t just about losing weight. It’s not limited to adjusting our diet and hoping for good physical results. It’s about recalibrating our souls so that we want to change — spiritually, physically, and mentally. And the battle really is in all three areas. ~pg. 16

3.   The spiritual perspectives in this book may stir the soul, but the physical realities require turning those spiritual insights into practical choices. ~pg. 17

From Chapter 1:

1.  I believe God made us to crave. Now before you think this is some sort of cruel joke by God, let me assure you that the object of our craving was never supposed to be food or other things people find themselves consumed by, such as sex or money or chasing after significance. ~pg. 20

2.  When comparing Eve’s temptation with the temptation of Jesus:  “Eve was saturated in the object of her desire. Jesus was saturated in God’s truth.” ~pg. 23

3.  We consume what we think about. And what we think about can consume us if we’re not careful. ~pg. 23

4.  With each temptation, Jesus, without hesitation, quoted Scripture that refuted Satan’s temptation.  Truth is powerful. The more saturated we are with truth, the more powerful we’ll be in resisting our temptations. And the more we’ll naturally direct our cravings where they should be directed— to the Author of all truth. ~pp. 24-25

5.  A verse to think about:  1 Corinthians 10:23, “All things are lawful [permitted] for me, but all things are not expedient [beneficial]:”  

TerKeurst, Lysa (2010-12-21). Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food. Zondervan. Kindle Edition.

Our verse to meditate on this week is Psalm 84:2, “My soul longeth, yea, even fainteth for the courts of the Lord: my heart and my flesh crieth out for the living God.”  This really made me stop and think about what my soul really longs for.  What do I faint after and cry out for on a daily basis?  Anything/anyone that isn’t God is an idol in my life.  This has been an eye-opener study for me in more ways than food and diet.  But as the quote above stated, as the spiritual insights come, some practical choices have to be made.  I am starting to set some guidelines for myself to help me make the right choices.

If you are participating in the study, leave a comment below about what you are learning.  Let’s encourage one another along the way!

OBSBlogHop

*click on the blog hop button to learn more

6 thoughts on “Made to Crave, Week 1

  1. “…made me stop and think about what my soul *really* longs for…”

    Oh, the power of italics! Your use of that little font formatting on the word “really” underpins the whole verse, doesn’t it? What do we really long for, if we stripped away the masks and layers of denial, for what does our deepest soul long? Finding that, we will find the gaping hole trying to be filled–and find that Jesus is all-sufficient to fill it!

    Thank you for sharing your insights! Check out my empowered post at: http://www.groundswellministries.org/2014/01/23/on-empowerment-and-choices/

  2. I had this book in my Kindle app for months, but your note a few weeks ago spurred me to look up the Proverbs 31 Ministries Bible study and get started on the book. I don’t know how much I’ll be involved over there – I’m not into all the extras of Twitter parties, and such, and, as you said, there are hundreds of comments on each post (I read that over 40,000 women signed up for the study!) But I am reading their blog posts and occasionally commenting there.

    Some years ago I started a separate blog to deal with weight loss issues, so i dusted it off and am posting notes from each chapter there: http://icor1031.blogspot.com/

    Some of the quotes you noted were some that stood out to me as well. It kind of hit me between the eyes that Eve succumbed to temptation while surrounded by plenty, and Jesus resisted temptation while severely deprived.

    Also I Cor. !0: 23 was a big help. That’s usually where I trip up when I want something I shouldn’t have, the thought that it’s not sinful in itself so therefore there is nothing wrong with eating it. (Duh.) This verse helped to deal with that – it may not be sinful in itself and others may be able to eat it with no problem, but it may not be beneficial for me.

    I just read Ch. 3 this morning about finding a plan. That has always been a problem, too, but I think the first step is taking back up the habit of recording what I eat – that in itself helps the trouble spots to stand out.

  3. Cynthia

    I like the idea about picking 5 significant statements from a chapter when you read. I am going to use this. Thanks for sharing your idea.

  4. dummka

    Thanks for sharing, Senkyoushi. I am also participating in this study and I love it! And like you, I already see the Lord’s work.

Leave a Reply

