Worth the Read

How to Move Forward into the New Year… when you feel like you failed the last year“FORWARD!”

Resolutions for Godly Living-Jonathan Edwards’ resolutions are throughout-provoking and convicting.

10 Things I Regret from 2013 {And 10 Things I’ll Never Regret.}-“There’s always hope, always. And thankfully, our failures do not affect our standing in Christ. Christ always looks on His children with love. Always love. Don’t let performance thinking scare you away from coming back to God when you’ve strayed or failed.”

Rivers of WaterThe Top 10 Posts of 2013! -This blog post has links to several posts that will help you in your quest to memorize Scripture.  This is the perfect time to start a this new spiritual discipline if you haven’t already.  I found them to very helpful as I think about my goals for the coming year.

Do Not Depart has announced it’s next memory project as Isaiah 55.  I memorized this several years ago with a friend.  It’s a wonderful passage to have committed to memory.  I’m going to use this time to review along with working on my new passage.

My Preferred Way to Read the Bible-“We have such a short life after all. If you do what I’m suggesting, think how you can begin to grow like you never have before. Being a believer is serious business; you need a guide like the Bible. The Spirit of God intends to use it in your life. There is no reason to think you cannot do this. Once you begin on a more serious approach to Scripture, I doubt that you will be able to turn back. You will mark that day as a major turning point of your personal history. Who knows what God will do through a person like you if you will just fill your mind with the word of God?”

5 Ways to Make More Time to Read-“Hopefully, one day, my mind will thank me for the daily exercise. As Dr. Seuss says, ‘The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.’  And who’s going to argue with Dr. Seuss?”

*Just a reminder that a link does not mean an endorsement of all that you might find there.

I’ve created a schedule for myself for memorizing Ephesians 2.  I added it as a page under my God’s Word in Your Heart tab.  Please leave me a comment if you are working on this passage so we can encourage one another.

2 thoughts on “Worth the Read

  1. Thanks for including the Isaiah 55 challenge here! It’s encouraging to me to know you’ve already memorized it before. I’ve got a few of the verses down from years ago, but never learned the whole thing. I’m excited to begin soon.

  2. I liked this post. I read an article shared on FB this week. In a nutshell, it said:

    1. Choose a book of the Bible.

    2. Read it in its entirety.

    3. Repeat step #2 twenty times.

    4. Repeat this process for all books of the Bible.

    This will change your mind.
    _______

    A worthy pursuit.
    Yes?

Leave a Reply

