My Day

Outside my window…leaves are falling.

I am thinking…about the exciting days ahead.

I am thankful…that in 8 days my oldest son and his wife will be here.

In the kitchen…pumpkin bread for my English class ladies.

I am wearing…my go-to apron.

I am going…to teach one my English classes for the last time.

I am wondering…if I will ever get my Christmas shopping done.

I am reading…The Women of Christmas by Liz Curtis Higgs

I am looking forward to…all of my children in Japan for Christmas!

I am learning…to prioritize my to-do list.

Around the house…a scented candle is burning.

I am pondering…the Light of Christmas.

A quote for today…

“Christmas is so much more than a holiday.  So much more than buying and wrapping and cooking and eating and trimming with tinsel and mailing out cards.  It’s a season for reflection, for preparation, for renewal.” ~The Women of Christmas, pg. 4

One of my favorite things…white lights and nutcrackers.  Oops!  That’s two.

A few plans for the rest of the week:

-Christmas shopping

-teaching English

-trip to Costco

-Christmas baking

PixieChristmas 2012

…missing my doggie as I decorate for Christmas this year.  She would have been 8 years old on 12/06.  She used to growl at my snowmen and we always took a picture of her in front of the tree each year.  Her eyes looked so sad in this picture.  Now I know why.

2 thoughts on “My Day

  1. She does look sad! She didn’t feel well. (J’s lab is having major problems & on pain meds for arthritus) Your holiday will be extra special with family coming over….how exciting! I bet the ladies in your English class and cooking class just love you..; ) Liz C. HIggs is a great writer-she takes you into her story as if it were real. A bit too much passion for me once in a while, but I remember starting one of her books about Rachel & Leah. We were sitting in Subway and I read a few pages and was instantly drawn into the story and couldn’t put it down. wow.

  2. I have read and enjoyed a few of Liz Curtis Higgs’s novels but have not read any of her devotional or Bible study books, but this looked good. I have been looking for something like this for December but didn’t want to reread any of the things I already had, so I ordered this one. 🙂

    I can imagine the anticipation of having all your kids coming to Japan!

Leave a Reply

