Young Love/Enduring Love

During our recent trip to the USA, I couldn’t help but see young love between my son and his wife.  It was demonstrated in many acts of kindness, patience during some pressured times and loving the other more than loving self.  In order to protect their privacy, I will not print the details.  I will say that I saw a side of my son that I have not seen before and it thrilled my heart.

While waiting to get my hair done on the wedding day, I saw an example of enduring love.  An older lady was sitting in the chair getting her hair done.  She wasn’t saying much.  Just listening.  Her husband was sitting nearby talking with the receptionist.  Then I noticed the wheelchair.  After the lady was finished, her husband came over and she wrapped her arms around his neck as he lifted her into the wheelchair.  I noticed how carefully groomed she was:  makeup, jewelry, nice outfit and shoes.  It was obvious to me that he was responsible for all of this.  I do not think she could have done it her self.  It brought tears to my eyes as I watched this demonstration of enduring love in action.

It is my prayer that my son and his wife will grow into this kind of love.  It doesn’t happen overnight.  It takes a lifetime…

Leave a Reply

