A Divine Appointment

I usually spend Saturdays doing housecleaning, cooking for Sunday and other miscellaneous activities that don’t get done before the weekend.  This week, I decided to spread my cleaning throughout the week so that I could be free Saturday and made plans accordingly.  As I was preparing to leave the house, my husband received a visit from a young, very pregnant lady asking if she could come in the afternoon to talk to him.  My plans would be delayed, but it was o.k.  I soon learned why the Lord rearranged my normal Saturday routine.  When the young lady returned, her mother was with her.  They received our announcement about the Christmas program and wanted to talk to DH about what Christians believe.

It started out combative.  My husband told them that if they were genuinely interested in talking about what Christians believe, he would be glad to talk to them.  If, however, they came to argue, he had other things to do.  Their demeanor changed and there was a lively two hour discussion.  I would call these ladies devout buddhists.  I don’t know their habits, etc. but they knew more about what they believed than any other buddhist I have talked to.

One thing that shocked both of us was their belief about who goes to heaven and who goes to hell.  According to them, if you die at peace, you go to heaven.  If you die in a manner that lacks peace (i.e. plane crash, cancer, murder, etc.)  you will go to hell.  My husband looked at the young lady and pointed to her mother and asked, “If your mother finds out tomorrow that she has cancer, she will go to hell?”  “Yes, that’s right.  She will go to hell,” she replied.  As she said it, you could tell that the truth of what she said she believed was sinking in.  My husband asked, “What if your priest dies in a plane crash or of cancer?  Will he go to hell?”  They both replied, “That never happens to a priest.  They always die peaceful deaths.”  DH shook his head in disbelief.

As they were leaving, I couldn’t help but think about the hopeless life they live.  They admitted themselves that they can have no assurance of heaven.  They were given much to think about.  Please pray that the Holy Spirit will work in their hearts and that we will have an opportunity to talk to them again.

*****

“But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:”

~I Peter 3:15

Leave a Reply

