From the books…

…on a theme of rest.

“Satan hates God, and he works tirelessly to convince Christians that they can operate on their own, independently of God.  If we  concede the battle to him, he knows that we will end up defeated, frustrated, barren, and useless to God.  Worse, we will end up doubting God, despairing of His goodness, in bondage to our flesh, and resisting His will.”  ~Nancy Leigh DeMoss,  A Place of Quiet Rest, pg. 16.

“When I get into His presence, the whole world looks different.  When I draw close to His heart, I find mercy when I know I deserve judgment; I find forgiveness for all my petty, selfish ways; I find grace for all my inadequacies; I find peace for my troubled heart; I find perspective for my distorted views.  In Him, I find an eye in the midst of the storm.  Oh, the storm around me may not immediately subside; but the storm within me is made calm.”  ~Nancy Leigh DeMoss,  A Place of Quiet Rest, pg. 41.

“The young believer must understand that he has no power of his own to maintain his spiritual life.  No, he needs each day to receive new grace from heaven through fellowship with the Lord Jesus…He must take time quietly and deliberately to come into God’s presence, to feel his weakness and his need, and to wait upon God through His Holy Spirit to renew the heavenly light and life in his heart.” ~Andrew Murray

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” ~Matthew 11:28-30

For more Week in Words, click here.

5 thoughts on “From the books…

  1. I’ve never read that book by DeMoss, but I have greatly enjoyed other things I’ve read from her. They are all great quotes, It seems no matter how much we know that we can’t live the Christian life on our own, we need constant reminders because we keep trying to.

  2. Oh, that is one of my favorite books by DeMoss! I’ve read it several times, but not lately. Perhaps I need to pick it up again soon… Thanks for these reminders to rest in HIM.

  3. sharlenec

    Thank you for sharing these quotes from A Place of Quiet Rest. It is one I am planning to reread soon. It was a great blessing the first time I read it.

  4. Thank you for posting these wonderful words from Nancy Leigh DeMoss! She is a treasure, and one of my favorite Christian author/speakers.

    Again, so nice to meet you!

    Blessings, e-Mom @ Chrysalis

    P.S. I see you’re living in Japan. We hosted Japanese students in our home in WA state for 3 years, and loved every minute!

Leave a Reply

