ChitChat

It’s been awhile since I have posted much of anything in the line of an update, so thought it was about time.  We spent a year in the states on furlough and have been back in our home in Japan since the end of May.  Summer here is always busy with camps, etc. but this year seemed to be more so.  I have not had a regular routine for almost a year and a half now.  For this woman who thrives on routine, it’s been a little rough.  September is here and the fall schedule, i.e. routine, is starting to fall into place!!  Praise the Lord!!

There is much to be done around here.  The yard is a disaster and my garden looks like I planted weeds instead of flowers!  HA!  It was well-taken care of in my absence, but I have let it go to pot since I have been back.  Just didn’t have the time to be in the garden like I would have liked.  This week, I am spending one to two hours each day getting the yard into shape.  We are cutting shrubs, killing and pulling weeds, moving shrubs, etc.  I’m not as young as I used to be.  The aches and pains of this kind of work are starting to catch up with me, but I keep pushing forward.  If I get that done this week, then next week, I will be able to start working on getting the house ready for fall and winter.

Homeschool has started once again.  This year will be my final year and I only have one student.  It’s rather sad and I find myself wondering what I will do with myself.  Since this last child is going to language school and has a job, my homeschooling will be minimal.  The Lord has been bringing unsolicited opportunities my way and I am so grateful.  I find my days filling up fast and I will have to work at not making them too full.

We had a major typhoon here last week.  It was a big and slow moving one, so the rain lasted for 3.5 days!!!  The winds were pretty strong, but no significant damage in our area.  The people in the north who have lost everything were hit pretty hard again with all the rain.  Please continue to pray for the Japanese through these trials.  Pray that they will turn their hearts to the true God.  He is the ONLY One who can help them.

There was a tragedy this week that involved a family with children who were the friends of my children.  It is hard to understand why these kind of things happen, but it was a reminder that I cannot look to others.  I HAVE to keep my focus on God and realize that there are things that I will never understand this side of heaven.  When I get to heaven, I will be so enamored by the presence of my Lord, that I doubt I will think to ask!

I’ve been rethinking the direction of my blog.  I started it as a way to keep up with family and friends stateside.  It seems my audience has grown and some of my regular readers have been women serving on various mission fields.  I think I will pretty much keep things as they are, but will also include some things along the way that have been a help to me as I serve the Lord in a very foreign land.  When I started in this ministry, I had many struggles and there didn’t seem to be anyone to help me along the way.  I’m so thankful for a dear friend who told me that she didn’t understand what I was going through, but she could point me to the One who did!  That has made all the difference.  It has also given me a burden for other women who walk in similar shoes and given me a burning desire to share how the Lord has and is helping me along the way.  The struggles don’t end, but there is One who offers help!

Well, that pretty much sums it up.  I will leave you with this closing thought:  God is good, all the time!

One thought on “ChitChat

  1. I have just one at home, too, and it is his last year, though he is in a Christian high school. I’m trying not to get too morbid about all the “last things” in the coming year. I have plenty to do to keep busy when he’s gone, but it just seems like I will miss having the kids around. I’m just trying not to think about it right now — “sufficient unto the day….”

    I think sharing ways the Lord has helped you in your ministry is a great thing. Though I am not a missionary, as someone who has worked with ladies’ missionary groups in churches, it has been helpful to me in knowing how to pray for and find ways to help missionaries when I learn of some of the struggles they’ve had.

Leave a Reply

