Something to think about…

“Psalm 19:12a recognizes that a fault may be hidden not because it is too small to see, but because it is too characteristic to register.” ~Derek Kidner’s commentary on Psalms

 

On Psalm 37…”Fretting springs from the determination to get our own way…All our fret and worry is caused by calculating without God.” ~Oswald Chambers

 

I love reading through the prayers in The Valley of Vision.  Today’s reading hit the nail on the head in so many areas of my life.  Here is a portion…

“Let me dwell in thy most secret place under thy shadow,

where is safe impenetrable protection from

the arrow that flieth by day,

the pestilence that walketh in darkness,

the strife of tongues,

the malice of ill-will,

the hurt of unkind talk,

the snares of company,

the perils of youth,

the temptations of middle life,

the mournings of old age,

the fear of death.

I am entirely dependent upon thee for support, counsel, consolation.

Uphold me by thy free Spirit,

and may I not think it enough to be preserved from falling,

but may I always go forward,

always abounding in the work thou givest me to do.

Strengthen me by thy Spirit in my inner self

for every purpose of my Christian life.

All my jewels I give to the shadow of the safety that is in thee–

may name anew in Christ,

my body, soul, talents, character,

my success, wife [husband], children, friends, work,

my present, my future, my end.

Take them, they are thine, and I am thine,

now and for ever.”  ~VofV, pg. 132

3 thoughts on “Something to think about…

  1. I do need to get that book. I’ve liked everything I have ever seen from it.

    That Chambers quote really speaks to me today, too.

    Thanks for your comments on The Week In Words. It looks like there is sufficient interest to continue it.

  2. With the first quote, it made me ponder how many faults do I have that I don’t realize because they are so much a part of my character. The second quote, stepped on my toes.

  3. The Oswald Chambers quote also speaks to me. I’m a “fretter” by nature but am trying to allow the Lord to transform me.

    “the temptations of middle life” … I’ve been thinking about that more and more lately as I see marriages fall apart of my peers after so many years. 😦 I used to think that temptations would get less as I got older, but I think they just change form. Praying the Lord’s strength for all of us, regardless of our life season!

Leave a Reply

