What I’ve been up to…

It’s been a busy week around here.  We had a wonderful combined service and barbecue on Sunday.  I was having such a good time that I forgot to take any pictures!!!  One of my new gym friends came and brought her daughter.  They had a good time.  On Monday, she thanked me for the invitation and told me that she felt comfortable at our church, that we are like a family.  Please pray for her.

I have Fudgy Black Bean Brownies in the oven.  I would have never tried these, but I had a sample of Black Bean Fudge this summer and it was wonderful.  The batter tasted good, so I’m thinking that these are going to be pretty good.  It’s a new recipe for my gluten-free repertoire.

I’m thinking about starting a scrapbook journal.  I thought about doing this about 1.5 years ago when I read one of Brenda’s earlier posts.  I even bought a book to start it in, but I have a small problem.  I hate to cut up my magazines.  I need to scale down and get rid of some things, so this is the perfect place to start.  I just can’t seem to make the cut!  (pun intended, 🙂 )

We are planning a low-key 4th of July.  We decided to pack a picnic lunch with our co-workers and head to the mountains for the day.  The temperatures should be cooler.  There is a lovely river there and lots of trees.  Should make for a relaxing and minimal work day.  I could use one of those!!

Our sea container has arrived and we should have it’s contents sometime in the next 10 days.  Can’t wait!!!  We have lots of goodies on it.  I can hardly wait to get to my memory foam topper for our bed.  It will be pure bliss!

Have a wonderful day, blog friends.  Thank you for stopping by!!

**update:  The brownies are superb!  I used the honey instead of sugar.  They are so moist and completely satisfy my chocolate craving.**

4 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to…

  1. Carolyn0107

    I can just picture the mountains even though I’ve not been in Japan for 38 years! Happy July 4th. enjoy your picnic.

  2. That is good to hear, that you enjoyed a great Sunday service & barbecue. God is a God of blessings, sometimes I overlook the blessings part of life and am too focused on my shortcomings etc.

    Those Fudgy Black Bean Brownies (& the fudge) sound good. I’ll have a look at the recipe in a minute. I did start a scrapbook journal and loved it! It only has about 12 pages done, but oh what fun. Picking up magazines cheap…at good will or book stores help me to cut them up. I did my pages with a mixture of family photos printed on pc paper & things from magazines. I’m glad you have posted about this. I need to DO things more often instead of putting them on the back burner. They don’t even simmer there, just slowly fade into extinction.

    Happy 4th! The 1st is our 44th wedding ann. I’m thinking zoo? maybe. love that place! It must be very exciting to get a sea container full of special things, I imagine it to be just like Christmas! =)

  3. I can’t get myself to try black beans — there is just something about them that repulses me. If you ever serve me brownies don’t tell me there are black beans in them til after I have tasted them. 🙂

    I like the scrapbook journal. So far I just toss things like that in a file.

  4. Your scrapbook journal is a great idea! I have scrapbooks of my grandmother’s and my aunt’s which I treasure, quite similar minus the fancy tools and technology 🙂

    Another notebook has a Scripture verse for the letters of the alphabet, which judging by the handwriting, they worked on together.

    Enjoy your picnic — sounds relaxing!

Leave a Reply

