A Day in the Kitchen

I have been longing for a day in the kitchen to try out some new scratch recipes.  When in Japan, I have to cook from scratch if we want to eat some American food.  We don’t have the convenience foods in Japan that we have in the USA.  I have to say that I am sorely missing rotisserie chicken.  Today, I mixed up a few of our favorite salad dressings.  I also made peanut butter and powdered sugar.  I had a couple of disasters until I got my bearings.  I tried to make gluten free bread in the bread machine in the past and it turned out like a brick.  Today, I used this recipe and it was a great success!

My biggest excitement for day was the making of roasted red pepper hummus.  I became quite addicted to this while on furlough and have greatly missed it.  I did some research and came up with four different recipes that looked promising.  I don’t have tahini yet since that was shipped by boat and we are still waiting for it, among other things.  I found one that called for sesame oil and sesame seeds.  Since those items are readily available here, I used that recipe as my starting point.  I roasted 1/2 a red pepper and the garlic cloves.  I cut the cloves in half for easier blending.

  I added all the ingredients to the vita-mix and blended away.  The results were better than store-bought!!

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

2 cans of garbanzo beans, drained (save liquid)

½ roasted red pepper

2 roasted garlic cloves

2 T sesame oil

2 T crushed sesame seed

2 T lemon juice

1 t salt

1 t cumin

Add ingredients to blender and blend.  Add bean juice until you reach your desired consistency.  Another option is to add 1 T chili powder.  I haven’t tried this yet since my chili powder has not arrived yet.

~~~~~

A side note:  I was bemoaning to a friend that I missed hummus and how much garbanzo beans cost here.  They can be quite costly.  The average price is $3.46 (278 yen) per can.  Yikes!  I was food shopping the other day and “just so happened” to find some on sale for $1.23 (99 yen)!!  I bought 10 cans!!  =}  It brought to mind one of my favorite verses.

“And he said unto them, Verily I say unto you, There is no man that hath left house, or parents, or brethren, or wife, or children, for the kingdom of God’s sake, Who shall not receive manifold more in this present time, and in the world to come life everlasting.”

~Luke 18:29-30

3 thoughts on “A Day in the Kitchen

  1. Your hummus looks delicious, and your pictures are so attractive! Our son-in-law took us to the ‘Lazy Goat’ for supper once and they served veggies and hummus with toasted triangles of pita bread for appetizers and it was delish. I tried to make some, I liked it hubby did not. Because the tahini was around $8, I used the oil. I must try your recipe, the roasted red pepper is something I did not use in the recipe I got online. Glad your gluten free bread recipe turned out well. They have started a gluten-free group that meets here in town. Love the verse & its meaning you ended your post with. How sweet it is! to be taken care of by the LORD. ~~I had just been thinking about the Vita-mix and couldn’t remember the name. They have a great recipe base on their site. I converted a few to blender recipes. Wishing you a happy day….

  2. I love how you were able to see God’s provision and to connect a verse with it. It proves to me over and over that when you are in the Word, it will always come back to you. May God bless you each and everyday.

  3. Isn’t it wonderful how God provides at times from what we are just THINKING??? I love that!

    I’ve started making my own hummus after the prices at the restaurants have all been spiking so high. I saw on the Mad Hungry cooking show that Lucinda usually makes hers from garbanzo beans she has soaked overnight and cooked because she has a “house full of hungry men”. (I hear her cookbook called Mad Hungry: Feeding Men and Boys is excellent.)

    I tried that recently and loved the more intense flavor. I don’t know if you can get the actual dried beans there. I can get them near me since we live in a university town but even the Super Target in a nearby town didn’t have them.

    My daughter often makes hummus without tahini since one of her eight year old son can’t have it. She adds more garlic and lemon but I wonder if she could just ad sesame seeds? I have got to add the roasted red peppers!

Leave a Reply

