For today…

June 13, 2011…

Outside my window…

the sun has set and a gentle breeze is blowing.

I am thinking…

about things that make me tired.

I am thankful for…

a safe trip back to Japan and special blessings that the Lord provided for me upon my return.

I am remembering…

family that we left behind.

From the kitchen…

leftovers.

I am wearing…

cool, loose clothing.  We are trying not to turn on the air conditioner.

I am creating…

room for the items that are coming on the sea container.

I am going…

to the immigration office tomorrow.

I am hoping…

to finish quickly at the immigration office tomorrow.  =)

I am hearing…

the dog whining.

Noticing that…

the washer just finished.

Around the house…

I’m washing clothes that were in storage and don’t smell too good.

Pondering these words…

“I long to fill all my time for thee,

whether at home or in the way;

to place all my concerns in thy hands;

to be entirely at thy disposal,

having no will or interest of my own.”

~Valley of Vision, pg. 128

One of my favorite things…

loose tea.  There’s just something about the process of making tea without bags.

A few plans for the rest of the week:

a visit to the immigration office

tea with a friend

more sorting and unpacking

Here is a picture for thought I am sharing…

Our family before our departure…

For more daybook entries, visit The Simple Woman’s Daybook.

For The Week in Words, visit Stray Thoughts.

6 thoughts on “For today…

  1. What a neat family picture!

    Glad you made it home safely and that you are settling in nicely. I can imagine clothes being in storage so long not smelling the best.

    That quote from Valley of Vision is quite convicting. I think I am fully consecrated until I read something like that. I need to get that book some time.

  2. What a great family picture! I’m enjoying it. I too am glad you are back safely in Japan, and that your long flight is over. R is moving to Ariz. for sure now…in a week. I’m praying for help from the Lord for the adjustment. I hope all went well at the immigration office. That sounds a little intimidating. Hmm, loose tea? Is it really better tasting ?

    Praying for you….

  3. Hope you settle back in quickly and well!

    That quote makes me long for a sort of monastic life–where I feel it would be easy to “fill all my time for Thee”. Yet, I train my heart to long not for the removal of the tasks of this life but for a conscious awareness of God’s presence and a conscious glorification of Him throughout these daily tasks.

  4. Carol

    What a lovely family picture! Glad that you are safely back in Japan. I will share that news with the ladies at church.

Leave a Reply

