The countdown has begun…

…for our return to Japan.  Our tickets are in hand and we are getting anxious to return “home.”  Many have asked if we will still return with the situation as it is there now.  The answer is YES!  We receive regular updates from the U.S. embassy in Japan.  We are following what they advise rather than what we are hearing from the media.

Japan is in one of the most earthquake-active areas of the world.  This was something that was very difficult for me to get used to.  When we first arrived, they terrified me.  Everywhere I went, I thought, “I wouldn’t want to be here during an earthquake…”  But God spoke to me through verses I was memorizing and I realized that no matter where I was when it hit, God would know exactly where I was, He would be with me, He would still love me and He would still be good.  I have no fear about returning.

Our area is approximately 400 miles south of the epicenter of the 9.0 quake.  Our city is not having any difficulties at this time.  There is  a shortage of bottled water and rice much like we have here in the southern part of the U.S. with bread and milk when snow is in the forecast.  Our water is safe for drinking at this point, so we are not concerned.  We are trusting the Lord to take care of us and meet our needs.

Please pray that the Lord would give us grace and strength for the days ahead.  We depart the end of May.  There is much to accomplish before that date.  I am packing, packing and packing some more!  I am convinced that a missionary wife spends 99.9% of her time packing!  HA!

One Disaster at a Time is a post written by a Japanese lady that lives in America.  She is a nurse and went on a relief team.  It gives good insight into the situation there as well as the culture that shows forth even in a crisis.  Many have commented on the fact that the Japanese people are not panicking.  The Japanese do not generally show emotion.  I can assure that they have the same feelings that we have, but you won’t see them displaying them in the same way that we westerners would.  I learned several years ago, that you cannot fault a country for its culture.  It is not that one culture is right and another is wrong.  We are just different.

I’ll close this post with a clip that shows the ingenuity of the Japanese.  You gotta love it!!

3 thoughts on “The countdown has begun…

  1. Thanks so much for the link and for the update. I’ll be praying for you as you pack. Glad you have peace about going. The most devastating part of the pictures from your link was seeing life as usual in Tokyo!

    I also want to thank you for posting the Colossians in a year link. I’m not up to date, but I’m memorizing.

    God bless!

  2. I know how I get packing for just a short trip — I can’t imagine packing to be away four years or so! I’m praying all goes well and I am glad to know your area isn’t experiencing some of the same problems as others. I never knew Japan was earth-quake prone before.

  3. What a way to make music…sheer genius! I liked that. We will be praying for your family also, and that God will open hearts to him. I cannot imagine the heartaches there, losing family members, homes, and now the fears from radiation. That is so sad and scary, but perhaps much fruit will come from it, as people maybe will turn to God.

    I really enjoyed your visit =)…and the article you wrote …it continues to be a blessing and a challenge to me. Thank you for teaching me how to download the magazines, I’ve successfully downloaded several and am pleased to have learned how to do something new, and am enjoying reading some of the articles.

    May God bless you as you prepare to go, and may He meet your every need more than you could think or hope. and may He give you the desires of your heart, according to His will. =)

Leave a Reply

