The dare continues…

I finished reading one thousand gifts by Ann Voskamp yesterday and I am continuing on with the dare that I took up at the beginning.  I thought about writing a review, but Barbara at Stray Thoughts wrote one so much better than I could.  I hope you will stop by and read it.  As is true of any book, it must be read with discernment.

I loved the quotes that Barbara pulled out.  I’m so sorry that I cannot list page numbers.  I’m reading on a Kindle app and I have no clue how to give credit without page numbers.  Any ideas?  Anyway, here are a few of my favorites…

“That which tears open our souls, those holes that splatter our sight, may actually become the thin, open places to see through the mess of this place to the heart-aching beauty beyond.  To Him.  To the God whom we endlessly crave.” ~Location 234, Kindle

“The gift list is thinking upon His goodness–and this, this pleases Him most!” ~Location 802, Kindle

“…life change comes when we receive life with thanks and ask for nothing to change.” ~Location 809, Kindle

“I redeem time from neglect and apathy and inattentiveness when I swell with thanks and weigh the moment down and it’s giving thanks to God for this moment that multiplies the moments, time made enough.” ~Location 976, Kindle

“Stay calm, enter the moment, give thanks.” ~Location 995, Kindle

“But the secret to joy is to keep seeking God where we doubt He is.” ~Location 1964, Kindle

“Anything less than gratitude and trust is practical atheism.” ~Location 2090, Kindle

“No matter what unfolds here, He is always good and we are always loved.  Let go.” ~Location 2660, Kindle

“‘Would a soul continually eye His everlasting tenderness and compassion…[then] it could not bear an hour’s absence from Him; whereas now, perhaps, it cannot watch with Him one hour,’ writes John Owen, Puritan theologian.” ~Location 3158, Kindle

more of my one thousand gifts…

an orchestra concert with a friend

the ability to taste

my daughter’s healing from a terrible bout with the flu

the fact that my husband takes leadership and spends time with our sons

a husband who cares for me and takes care of me, even when it isn’t so pleasant

gluten-free cereal that tastes so good…

sunshine after rain

One thought on “The dare continues…

Leave a Reply

