Comfort Food

One of my favorite foods is chicken and dumplings.  A few years ago, I found a wonderful recipe in the Diane magazine that is published by Curves.  My whole family loves it!  Now there is a small problem.  It has been determined recently that I need to be gluten-free.  I don’t want to go into all the details and I don’t want this blog to be about that.  There are so many that have been down this road that know so much more than I do.  So yesterday, I was in dire need of some comfort food.  I wanted…actually I needed chicken and dumplings.  =)  I decided to give it a try substituting the flour with my favorite gluten-free mix.  It worked!  I had to add a little more oil and broth to the dough mix.  Next time, I may add an extra egg.  The peas are not in the recipe, but I added them just because we like them.  That would change the nutritional information a little.  My family enjoyed this as much as I did.  I’m so glad, because I hate to have to cook two different meals.  My goal with this new direction in my diet is to try to cook what I can eat with an extra side dish or two for the rest of the family.  So far, so good…

Ingredients:

•               1 Tbs. plus 4 tsp. canola oil, divided

•               1/2 cup chopped onions

•               1 cup chopped carrots

•               1/2 cup chopped celery

•               4 cups low-sodium chicken stock or broth

•               11/3 cups all-purpose flour

•               1/2 tsp. salt

•               1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

•               1/8 tsp. baking powder

•               1 whole egg, lightly beaten

•               2 Tbs. low-sodium hot chicken stock

•               3 cups pulled cooked chicken meat, such as leftover roasted or rotisserie chicken

Directions:

Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a 2-quart saucepan over medium heat. Add onions and cook about 2 minutes or until soft and clear. Add carrots and celery. Cook 1 minute longer or until vegetables smell fragrant. Add 4 cups stock and increase heat to high. Bring to a simmer and cook until vegetables are just done. Remove from heat and cover to keep warm.
2. For the dumplings, combine flour, salt, pepper, and baking powder in a small bowl and mix well. In a separate bowl, blend egg, 2 tablespoons stock, and 4 teaspoons oil and mix well. Add dry ingredients to egg mixture and stir with a fork until just mixed together. (It is important not to overmix the dough as it will become tough.) Transfer dough to a well-floured cutting board and spread out as thinly as you can by hand. Keep your hand and fingers well dusted with flour so dough does not stick. Lightly flour dough surface and finish rolling to a thickness of about 1/16″ to 1/8″.
3. Return stock with vegetables to the stove and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Cut dough into noodle shapes the size you like and drop them into the simmering stock. Be careful to drop a few at a time and to stir the stock to prevent the dumplings from sticking together. Cook 6 to 8 minutes or until dumplings are cooked through and tender. Add meat and cook 1 minute longer. Turn off the heat and let stand 3 minutes before serving.

Nutrition Info:

Calories: 286; Fat: 10.0g; Saturated Fat: 2.0g; Protein: 24g; Carbohydrates: 25g; Fiber: 2g; Cholesterol: 7Mg; Sodium: 322Mg

One thought on “Comfort Food

Leave a Reply

