First Love

My Quiet Time Basket

When I recently I wrote about a book I was reading titled His Word in My Heart:  Memorizing Scripture for a Closer Walk with God,  I had no idea how God was going to continue to use it in my life.  We all know the needs that we have in our hearts and lives, but what never ceases to amaze me is how God moves to meet those needs in our daily lives.  Since I read that book I have memorized Psalm 4, 121 and a large chunk of 139.  I hope to finish it in a couple of weeks.  It’s been slow, but steady and a tremendous help to me.  I’m praying about what my first book should be.  I think I know, but it is a major commitment and I’m not sure I’m up to it.  It will probably take me 1-1 ½ years to complete it.  Then I read this blog post:  Colossians in a Year.  Colossians is not the book I am thinking of, but this was so inspiring.  I especially liked her point of preaching it to yourself.  I do this a lot, especially when I am in the shower and feel like I cannot face the day.

 

After some more clicking around, I found this:  Returning to Your First Love Bible Memorization: Make a Commitment Booklet.  If you read, please read to the end.  It brought tears to my eyes.  When I am gone and loved ones start sifting through my things, what will they discover to be my first love?  Will it be my tea collection, Christmas village or stacks of magazines that I couldn’t bring myself to part with?  Or will it be the fact that I hid God’s Word in my heart?  What about you?  Will you join me and return to your First Love?

3 thoughts on “First Love

  1. JamKnitter

    After reading your blog I was inspired to start memorizing scripture again, which I have not done since my college days (30 years ago). I did not know where to start, so I started with Jesus words in Matthew 6. When in College i had a group of friends who met everyday to memorize Colossians. It was great. Thank you for these blog posts about scripture memorization.

  2. carol

    Thank you for posting this. I read thru the one about returning to your first love quickly, but will need to go back and really read it again. It was definitely a rebuke. My husband and I are working on memorizing the book of Philippians this year, so this was very timely. I also challenged our church ladies to do it, too, but so far I have only heard of one lady who is joining in with us.

    Did you receive my e-mail about the ladies’ meeting next month. Let me know. Thanks! Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Joyce

    Thank you so much for the link about memorizing Scripture. I was ashamed by the conviction of how much time I have wasted. I am going to try memorizing again. I have part of I John memorized but never finished. I gain such comfort and strength from the portions I have memorized and I know this pleases our Father. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

