REST

 

Serenity Cottages II by Richard Burns

Welcome to 2011!!  This past year has been a year of change and adjustments.  This new year promises to be full of the same.  Life keeps moving on and sometimes I feel as if it is passing me by.  As this new year begins, I want to enjoy each and every moment.  I don’t want to miss anything. There are things that I know I should work on and will.  There are things that I need to accomplish and will.  There are things that I should resolve to do and will.

If you scan back over past blog posts, you will see that I try to avoid the whole resolution posts.  There is a reason for this.  I don’t like them!  There!  That was simply stated, wasn’t it?  I do make resolutions.  I don’t usually keep them, at least not wholly.  I was encouraged one year, when I looked back and realized that although I didn’t accomplish all I set out to do, at least I made some progress in the right direction.

I recently read a blog post for homeschoolers entitled Resolve to REST! This is an excellent read whether you homeschool or not.  It beckoned to my soul.  I don’t know if the author is a Christian or not, but the Lord has used her to call me to something higher…REST!   I don’t usually read all the comments, but I scanned through the ones on this post.  Several commented from a Christian perspective and blessed my soul.  So I am making this public.  I hereby resolve to make time for rest, both physically and spiritually. All other things will fall into place.  I will do whatever it takes to make sure this happens from writing it in my planner to planning “getaways” to winding down before bed to learning to let things go to planned extended times with my God.  Will you join me in making this a year of rest?

I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety. ~Psalm 4:8

It is vain for you to rise up early, to sit up late, to eat the bread of sorrows: for so he giveth his beloved sleep. ~Psalm 127:2

Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. ~Matthew 11:28-30

2 thoughts on “REST

  1. Wonderful post. Taking time to rest and just to sit from time to time is a blessed thing. When we are quiet we can hear the still small voice of God so much better than we are running around like nuts!

    Good post, Spark Friend!

    Michele

Leave a Reply

