The best of intentions…

…don’t always get carried out.  I had intended to participate in Flashback Friday last week but time got away from me.  The theme was books.  A couple of my bloggy friends participated and I decided that I was going to do it too.  I’m hoping that “better late than never” will be true in this case.

Did you like to read when you were a child?

I loved to read as a child, teenager, young adult and at the age I am now.

What were your favorite genres, books or series?

I can’t remember any that I didn’t enjoy reading.  I think my favorite was and still is historical fiction.  I read the Williamsburgh novels by Elswyth Thane as a teenager.  They aren’t in print any more, but you can still find them on the internet and in libraries.  The first year of my marriage, my hubby took me to an antique bookstore.  They had the whole set (except the first one) on sale.  I was ecstatic!!!  I told the lady working there how I had read those books as a teenager and was thrilled to find them!  She was taken aback and asked how I came to read such a serious series of books as a teenager.  My reply: “We didn’t have television.”  She said she knew I was going to say that.  She was very concerned because her grandson didn’t like to read and spent hours in front of the television.  By the way, I found the first book on the internet before our departure to Japan, so I now have the whole set. I am currently reading the Refiner’s Fire series by Lynn Austin based on the Civil War.  I can hardly put it down!  I think the early years in American history must be my favorite, since I tend to read these the most.  Eugenia Price is another favorite of mine.

Did you read books because of the author or because of the title/plot?

I really don’t know.  Sometimes it was just something that caught my eye.  Now I tend to gravitate towards books that are recommended by someone I know.

Did you own many books?

I own a lot more now.  The library is my best friend!  HA!  It saves me lots of money.  If I borrow a book and fall in love with it, I look for one to purchase.

Did your school distribute the Scholastic book orders (or some other type)?

This is another one that I don’t remember.  I don’t think so.

Did you visit the library often?

I visited the library often and sometimes spent hours there at a time.

Was there a summer reading program when you were young, and did you participate?

There wasn’t one in my area, but I guess you could say I had one of my own.  I always had my nose in a book.

Do you have any particular memories of your school libraries?

I went to a small Christian school, so our library wasn’t very big.  I also lived in a small, country town, but our library was well stocked.  My favorite memory was the smell that greeted me when I entered the door.

What were your favorites and least favorites among the classics (the ones high school English teachers assign!)?

I liked Tom Sawyer.  I had to read Tess of the Durbervilles in college.  I sort of had a love/hate relationship with that one.  The Scarlet Letter wasn’t one of my favorites.

If you didn’t like reading, do you like it more today than you did then?

I’ve always liked reading and I love it even more today; although, I don’t have the time to read that I would like.

2 thoughts on “The best of intentions…

  1. My husband doesn’t understand owning many books unless they are for reference. He feels like once you read them, you’re done, so why keep them. But to me good books are friends. Thankfully he puts up with my book collecting tendencies to a point. I am having to pare down what we have because we had two built-in bookcases at our old house in addition to the two freestanding ones that Jim built years go, but we could not take the built in ones with us, so we have much less space to store them. Talk about hard decisions!

  2. Absolutely better late than never! I’m glad you participated.

    Several folks mentioned the smell of the library in their post, and I must agree!

    Early American historical fiction has always been one of my favorite genres. I absolutely LOVED all the novels that Eugenia Price wrote – makes me want to go to Savannah and St. Simon’s Island!

Leave a Reply

