relationships

A.Mess.Worth.Making by Tim Lane and Paul Trip is what I have been reading this week.  It is a real eye-opener to my own heart.  I thought I would share a few quotes that have been working on me.

“The fatal flaw of human wisdom is that it promises that you can change your relationships without needing to change yourself. When that perspective rules, you end up settling for far less than what God desires for your life and your friendships.  As Christian author C. S. Lewis observed, ‘Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak.  We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea.  We are far too easily pleased.'”      ~pg. 7

“We would prefer that God would just change the relationship, but he won’t be content until the relationship changes us too…What happenes in the messiness of relationships is that our hearts are revealed, our weaknesses are exposed, and we start coming to the end or ourselves.  Only when this happens do we reach out for the help God alone can provide…The most dangerous aspect of your relationships is not your weakness, but your delusions of strength.  Self-reliance is almost always a component of a bad relationship.” ~pg. 12

“If you look for God in your relationships, you will always find things to be thankful for.”  ~pg. 13

3 thoughts on “relationships

  1. nannykim

    Hi–I am reading Paul Tripp’s book called What did you Expect?? Redeeming the realities of Marriage. I love his books. I have not read this one that you have mentioned , but it sounds similar to other books I have read by Paul Tripp. He is always good. I didn’t know he co-authored a book. I think the quote by CS Lewis is a very frequent quote, but I love it!

    Ps. Are you still in Japan? I once spent 2 months there somewhere to the North of Tokyo—quite a ways north–I can’t recall the name of the place right at this moment!

  2. Those are wonderful thoughts on relationships. I know I often fall into the trap of wanting my circumstances to change without wanting myself to change–yet that’s completely opposite God’s goal, which is to transform me into His image (Romans 8:29)

  3. I have found it so true that “What happens in the messiness of relationships is that our hearts are revealed, our weaknesses are exposed.”

    I saw your name in a magazine I just received in the mail! Just flipped through but haven’t read it yet.

Leave a Reply

