The last day…

…of winter break found me in the kitchen.  All the things that I didn’t make or eat due to all the sickness were made today.  I got out my grandmother’s cookbook and started with her famous egg nog.Next on the agenda was Coconut Cake, sometimes fondly referred to by me as Snowball Cake.For dinner, we had ham with sweet potatoes.  The Japanese sweet potatoes are not the same as we have in the USA.  They are yellowish and quite dry.  I found this recipe in a Taste of Home cookbook and it is perfect when using sweet potatoes made in Japan!

Orange Whipped Sweet Potatoes

3 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed

2-2/3 cups orange juice, divided

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 T. butter or margarine

1/4 t. salt

1/4 t. ground nutmeg

1/4 t. ground ginger

Place sweet potatoes and 2-1/3 cups orange juice in a large aucepan or Dutch oven.  Cover and bring to a boil.  Boil for 35-45 min. or just until potatoes are tender.  Drain and place in a large mixing bowl.  Mash potatoes with the brown sugar, butter, salt, nutmeg, ginger and remaining orange juice.  YIELD:  6-8 servings.  Note:  Sometimes I add a mashed banana.  This is also good baked in a casserole dish with the usual brown sugar and pecan or walnut topping.

P.S.  I just discovered that I could import my old posts from blogger.  They have all been moved to this site now!  It only took a few minutes!  If you’re new here, feel free to browse the archives.

3 thoughts on “The last day…

  1. Your Grandmother’s cookbook looks like the same Betty Crocker one I have. I love sweet potatoes but I think the ones I use are really ‘yams’. Save me a piece of your coconut cake ok? I wish…=)

Leave a Reply

