A Book of Remembrance

Today I am feeling rather nostalgic. I love this Dickens Village piece. It makes me think of simpler times. Sometimes I think we live life in the fast lane too often. I would love to slow down and play in the snow. I love the time period represented by the clothing. I worked my way through graduate school in a costume room. We did 2 Shakespeare plays and an opera every year. I did a lot of research on clothing from different time periods and this is one of my favorites. I have often wondered what it must have been life to live at that time.

Old things have always moved me in an unexplainable way. Antiques, old dishes, things that belonged to those who have gone on before me…They all somehow make me feel connected to the past. I’m sentimental I suppose. Sometimes it does come in handy. Since I live in Japan, there are many things we can’t get. I am learning to cook from scratch! It’s actually fun when I have the time. We love egg nog at Christmas. My grandmother, who is no longer with us, shared her recipe with me and I can’t wait to make it this year. I remember her making it every year along with her Coconut cake. We thought it looked like a giant snowball. Now that I make the egg nog, I know why she also made the cake. One calls for egg yolks and the other egg whites. You waste nothing!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Egg Nog or Custard Sauce
3 beaten egg yolks
dash of salt
1/4 cup of sugar
2 cups milk scalded
1 tsp. vanilla

Combine beaten eggs yolks, salt and sugar. Gradually stir in scalded milk. Cook in double boiler over hot water until mixture coats spoon, stirring constantly. Remove from heat; add vanilla. Chill and serve!

*****

Then they that feared the LORD spoke often one to another:
and the LORD hearkened, and heard it,
and a book of remembrance was written before him
for them that feared the LORD,
and that thought upon his name.
~Malachi 3:16

3 thoughts on “A Book of Remembrance

  1. I like old things too…there is a stability about them as you said. I love the verse you ended with. It seems, even at church, people don’t talk as much about the goodness of the Lord with each other as we ought.

  2. Gail Williams

    So,

    Considering that your family got sick this Christmas, were you able to make that egg nog and enjoy it?

    My daughter-in-law (who lives with the DH and I) just loves egg nog. I have saved this recipe and hope to try it soon! Thanks for the recipe!!!

    Gail

  3. Pingback: The last day… « Life in the 10/40 Window

Leave a Reply

