This and That

1~As I approach a certain age, my memory seems to be suffering, especially in the area of my curling iron. We were leaving for a family outing yesterday and I said that I needed to go back in the house to see if I turned it off. B, my #2 son, stated that I turned it off and he unplugged it! It seems I have done this frequently and he was prepared! HA! =)

2~I’ve been asked about the differences between blogger and wordpress.  I hesitate to go into it, because I do not consider myself to be very computer savvy.  I will attempt to answer this based on my own experience.

When I signed up with blogger, I was new to the whole blogging idea.  I didn’t know anything about it.  It was very easy to get your blog up and running and everything was spelled out quite simply.  I liked that.  There are a gazillion widgets, etc. that you can put on your blog.  This began to be a problem for me, because I was spending too much time on the internet looking for the latest thing to give my blog zing.  This, however, is not something that can be blamed on blogger.  =)

I started having trouble with blogger on my old computer.  At first, I attributed it to the computer.  It was on a rapid decline and was making life difficult.  Sometimes blogger worked, sometimes it didn’t.  Sometimes I could load pictures, sometimes I couldn’t.  Sometimes it would center my text, sometimes it wouldn’t.  I was getting frustrated and the blogging slowed down.  Another problem that I had was with uploading pictures.  I had to decide what I wanted and load them in order from the one I wanted last to the one I wanted first.  It was almost impossible to change the order once it was loaded.  I know others have had this issue as well.  This was quite frustrating when I wanted to load several pictures and then realized I forgot one.  I realize there are programs out there that I could use, but that seemed to defeat the purpose of having a free blog to me.  When I got my new macbook, I thought my problems would be solved.  Not so, in fact, some became worse.  Firefox worked far better than Safari, but there was still the photo issue.  It was getting to a point where I was ready to forget blogging all together.  I didn’t really want to do that, so I started looking at other options.  I created a website with a blog feature, but comments couldn’t be accepted without doing some things that I didn’t want to do.  I checked into wordpress and decided to give it a go.

WordPress is not as simple as blogger at first.  I didn’t have anyone to show me the ropes, so I plugged away at it until I found out how to do what I wanted to do.  Google is my best friend!  Anytime I have a problem on my computer or with wordpress, etc.  I do a google search and I always find the answer.  I am not having any of the problems that I had with blogger.  I love the page feature at the top of wordpress and I have more to come in that area.  The best thing is that when I am typing away and decide to enter a photo, I can add it and it goes right where I want it instead of the top of the post.  If I forget one, I put the cursor where I want it and the photo is loaded there.

I don’t have to go to a bunch of places to check on comments, stats, etc.  It is all right there on the dashboard.  I see recent activity at a glance and it I want more details it is one click away instead of several clicks, entering passwords, etc.

On a more personal note, I love the simplicity of the designs.  I chose a clean design and it is simple to change the photo at the top whenever I get bored with it.

None of this is very scientific, but there you have it!

3~I am planning a Christmas tea party this year and I am so excited!!!  I finally feel like I know enough people who might come.  It’s taken 4 years to get to this point, but I’m finally here.  This is the photo on the cover of the invitation.  The lettering is katagana for Christmas.

invitephoto4~My days of praise continue…I am giving thanks for the friends that my children have made here.  It can be quite lonely at times for all of us, but my heart grieves when my children are lonely for friends.  Today, my daughter had two of her friends over for a baking time.  My son joined in, since he loves to be in the kitchen.  I told him that I felt bad that most of his time was spent with girls.  His reply…”I’m not complaining.”  😉

3 thoughts on “This and That

  1. Your whole post is wonderful but the end – well, it warmed my heart. Children are so precious and knowing that your are now making friends – such a blessing to behold.

  2. I agree with Mimi’s comment. Also, glad to know the differences in blog stuff. The photo thing in blogspot does drive me crazy. Means extra time and lots of it sometimes. I’m so glad you’re having a Christmas teaparty but more so for the accumulation of friends. That’s tough to do sometimes. Glad you’re being blessed. See you next time. Jenn

  3. Thank you for explaining the difference between Blogger and WordPress. I have had trouble getting those photos in the right order too. Just now, things are going alright for me with Blogger but I’ll keep WordPress in mind just in case. Your Christmas tea party sounds like it will be a special time and I know you will make it special. ~~and I’m glad for you that the Lord has given your children friends. What a rich heritage these experiences will be for them to look back on later in life.

Leave a Reply

