Remembering…

NEW YORK SKYLINE

It’s September 12th here, but it is still September 11th in NYC. I’ve been watching the world news this morning and every country mentioned 9/11. September 11, 2001 was a day that affected the whole world. I was in Japan at the time. It was Tuesday evening for me. I hadn’t watched any news yet that day, so I turned on the t.v. to watch a little Fox News (satellite) before going to bed. The first plane had hit the tower in NYC and the newscasters were trying to determine whether or not it was an accident. As I sat there watching, the second plane hit the second tower. I was dumbfounded, couldn’t believe what I just saw on the screen. I called my mom to make sure my brother was safe, since I knew that he sometimes had business in NYC. I continued to watch and heard about the pentagon and then the plane that crashed in SW Pennsylvania. That is where my folks live. I was very concerned and had to wait for almost 24 hours before I knew they were o.k. as all the circuits were busy. The plane crashed about 30 miles from their home. Our family visited the crash site the last time we were home. We were also able to visit ground zero and then the Oklahoma bombing memorial. I believe it is important to do this. History is full of events of this nature. Our freedom is not free! There are people who hate Americans because of our freedom. They try to squash our spirit, but we always rise above with the Lord’s help. May it always be so!
One thought on “Remembering…

  1. CONNIE'S THOUGHTS FROM THE HEART

    A great big Amen to your Post. I will always remember that day!!! connieP.S. I am glad your folks were all safe.

Leave a Reply

