Suffering

A family that I know and love has had much suffering in their lives. Last week, the unthinkable happened. They lost their 28 year old son in an accident. My first thought was, “How much suffering can one family take?” Then I began to recite the things that I have learned from this family over the years. I was not surprised when a friend told me that the father’s first statement to her was, “God is good and everything He does is right.” Their lives have exemplified this statement. 

I remember hearing the father preach a sermon on the life of Job. Job did not doubt God, but he wanted to know why. He began to demand “his day in court.” God never told him why. He showed Job Who.

Another thing that I learned from this man is that you never base your knowledge of God in light of your circumstances. You judge your circumstances in light of Who God is. If we know who God is and choose not to believe the devil’s lie, we can say that “God is good and everything He does is right!”

Years ago, I heard the mother of the young man who died sing the following song. The song keeps running through my mind ever since I heard the news.

~~~~~
His All-Sufficient Grace
I will rest in His keeping each night and each day,
For I know that He’s leading each step of the way.
Tho’ the valleys of sadness at times I must face,
Still He comforts all heartaches with His all-sufficient grace.
God’s everlasting mercy, oh what tender relief,
When burdened with sorrow and laden with grief;
When I think that on Calvary Christ died in my place,
I’m o’er-whelmed by His mercy and His all-sufficient grace.
~H.A. Taylor
*****
Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ,
the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort;
Who comforteth us in all our tribulation,
that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble,
by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.
For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us,
so our consolation also aboundeth by Christ.
And whether we be afflicted, it is for your consolation and salvation,
which is effectual in the enduring of the same sufferings which we also suffer:
or whether we be comforted, it is for your consolation and salvation.
And our hope of you is steadfast, knowing,
that as ye are partakers of the sufferings,
so shall ye be also of the consolation.
~2 Corinthians 1:3-7
One thought on “Suffering

  1. Maggie Ann

    How comforting the truth of God is. No one falls that is trusting in God. He will carry us through. Your post touched my heart. I had heard the sad news and flinched in my soul. I heard the voice and will of God…in your words and quotes. My own heart is strengthened. Did you know D. Ri. Mom passed on? The funeral is Sunday.

Leave a Reply

