Litera-tea

This is week two of the Gracious Hospital-i-Tea Blog-a-Thon. We are to share tea from the perspective of literature. Post a quote, a verse or poem, or story. Tell about a favorite tea book…

I have several tea books, but I will share three of my favorites. I always get ideas and recipes for my own tea parties from these books.
The first is If Teacups Could Talk by Emilie Barnes. It was the first tea book that I owned and I received it as a gift from a dear friend. She wrote the following quote on the inside. “Life is to be fortified by many friendships. To love, and be loved, is the greatest happiness of existence.”~Sydney Smith
A few months after this, my friend and I went to hear Emilie Barnes speak. I took my book with me and she graciously autographed it for me. She commented on the lovely quote written by my friend. It was a wonderful day of memories!
~~~~~
Come and share a pot of tea,
My home is warm and my friendship’s free.
~Emilie Barnes
~~~~~
“A woman is like a teabag. It’s only when she’s in hot water that you realize how strong she is.”
~Nancy Reagan
~~~~~
If you are cold, tea will warm you;
if you are too heated, it will cool you;
if you are depressed, it will cheer you;
if you are exhausted, it will calm you.
~William Gladstone
~~~~~
When we were in the lengthy preparation time of going to the mission field, there were several ladies that were very special to me. I wanted to do something special for them to try to return some of the blessing that they had been to me. I got the idea of a “Share Your Treasure” tea from this book. Everyone brought something special to share. It was sort of like a grown-up show-and-tell. One lady brought her grandmother’s wedding dress. Another brought an afghan that was handmade by her grandmother. Another brought the baby socks from a child that had died. Then there was a special necklace. I don’t remember all the treasures, but I do remember that it was a very special time with laughter and tears. We all hated when it was time to go home. I love the clean-up time afterwards. As I wash all the dishes and put things away, I think about the wonderful time that was had by all!
“For where you treasure is, there will your heart be also.”
~The Book of Matthew
This is another book that I received as a gift from a friend. It is full of beautiful tea art and lovely quotes. I never tire of reading it.
~~~~~
“The spirit of the tea beverage is one of peace, comfort, and refinement.”
~Arthur Gray
~~~~~
“There is no trouble so great or grave that cannot be much diminshed by a nice cup of tea.”
~Bernard-Paul Heroux
~~~~~
I’m sending you love and tea,
To warm your winter’s day.
Think of me as you pour your cup
And all the good things we would say.
If we could be together now
Instead of miles apart,
We’d sip our teas and memories,
The sweet warmth fills the heart.
~Susan Young
14 thoughts on “Litera-tea

  1. La Tea Dah

    Beautiful books — thank you for sharing. I especially enjoyed reading about the ‘treasure’ tea experience. It sounded very meaningful and I know you’ll never forget the memories made that day. And how very special that you got to hear Emilie Barnes speak and that she autographed your “If Teacups. . .” book for you. That’s very special!Enjoy a blessed day and thank you for participating!LaTeaDah

  2. Gina E.

    Hi Senkyoshi,Thank you for sharing details about these books – I have a copy of the third one, but haven’t seen the others. I guess I’ll have to jump over to Amazon.com to track them down!Gina in Australia

  3. Miss Sandy

    Tea and friendship do seem to go hand in hand don’t they? I heard Emilie speak at a women’s conference too and she is as warm and wonderful as a soothing cup of tea! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Maggie Ann

    What a special post! I’ve enjoyed your memories. I love that last poem especially…and the music you play sounds lovely…and familiar…smile. Blogger has been giving me fits all afternoon and I’ve spent far too much time trying to ‘fix’ things. I did enjoy several cups of raspberry tea though..so the time wasn’t a total loss.

  5. CONNIE'S THOUGHTS FROM THE HEART

    This was a beautiful post. Since I was a little girl I have had mock tea parties but I have never been to a real one. It sounds like so much fun. I will have to get me one of the books you listed. I loved all the quotes. I love tea sets and have several. I wish I knew more about tea, though. connie from Texas

Leave a Reply

