A God Ready to Pardon

I am sorry to say that I am woefully behind in my Bible reading for the year. I am trying to catch up. There is a great blessing to be had by reading large chunks of God’s word in one sitting. I had such a blessing on Sunday. I was reading in Nehemiah and chapter 9 arrested my attention. God’s people were in rebellion. They refused to obey and did not remember the works He had done on their behalf. In verse 9, we find out God’s response. . .“but thou art a God ready to pardon, gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and of great kindness, and forsookest them not.” Another version said that God was slow to anger and abounding in love ! The chapter goes on to list time after time when His people rebelled. When the time of retribution came, they cried out to God and then He delivered them only to have the cycle repeated. Verse 31 goes on to say, “Nevertheless for thy great mercies’ sake thou didst not utterly consume them; nor forsake them; for thou art a gracious and merciful God.” Absolutely amazing!

2 thoughts on “A God Ready to Pardon

  1. Teeny Tiny cabin

    Dear Senkyoshi,So happy to see that you are back! I enjoyed catching up on your blog and reading about your wonderful summer. I loved seeing the pictures of your dear family and your time spent together.Also, I do appreciate the link on your award post and couldn’t agree with Maggie Ann more!Loved your post today–even though I know with my mind those truths about God’s character are true.–(“true truth”, as Francis Schaeffer would say) It is a comfort to my heart to read them over and over again in His Word! Thank you for the reminder!Blessings to you-Claudia O.

Leave a Reply

