Amazement and Amusement

I knew I needed to change the water filter in my refrigerator, but I didn’t know how badly it needed to be done. I brought a spare from the USA, but I couldn’t find it. I knew I put it in a safe place, so I wouldn’t lose it! 😦 The drinking water was starting to taste metallic and I was feeling a little desperate. This morning I wondered if maybe I put it in an empty Brita filter box. My husband looked and there it was! The black one is the old one! Filters are a good thing! As a side note, there have been times when I could not find something and the Lord has caused a thought to cross my mind and then there it was! Aren’t you glad that when you don’t know where something is, He does!

My daughter and I saw this sign today while waiting for the bus. You can double click on the photo to enlarge it. It’s a bike shop and they are boasting about their everyday HIGH prices! One of our major sources of entertainment here is the English that we read on signs and clothing.

This picture is for those of you who know B. When we came to Japan 15 months ago, the hem of these jeans was on the floor! He is now 3 inches taller than me. No wonder he is eating me out of house and home. 🙂 Please excuse the floor. For some reason our American linoleum is peeling and cracking on our Japanese floor. We hope to replace it soon with something else.

6 thoughts on “Amazement and Amusement

  1. Patricia of Pollywog Creek

    Many years ago I asked the Lord to help me find an earring in a parking lot. At the time, I was the head nurse of a hemodialysis center and the earring belonged to the center social worker. Her husband was a dental student at the nearby university and he had made the set of earrings for her out of some excess dental gold. I knew that the earrings were of no value except to my co-worker, but I drove back to the center at night after everyone had gone home and looked for the earring in the parking lot…alone. Alone, except that I prayed and asked the Lord to help me find it. I had only recently recommitted my life to Christ, so His answer to that simple prayer was HUGE. I found the earring right away and it is an experience of asking the Lord’s help in finding something that I not only never forget, but one that the Lord has amazingly repeated many times over the past 27 years. God is sooooooooo good to His people!My oldest son was like your B. I was convinced that he outgrew his jeans by the time we got them home from the store! Blessings, dear friend!

  2. Scooter Finazzio

    I was laughing when I saw the sign. It is our entertainment when we go out and see these signs. My son has started a collection of pictures of them starting at the airport when we arrived. They are hilarious sometimes. So are you able to drink tap water there? No one here drinks from the tap at all. The water is bottled only. Is your filter in place because otherwise you could not drink, or is it just taste that is a problem?

  3. Bekah

    Oh, Kim..I just love going on your blogg to see what your going to post! I laughed out loud at the “Everyday High price!” Makes me remember all the other signs we saw up in Hokkaido! Some that I would mention on the sight =).The first time I saw the picture of B….I thought that he was hard up for clothes that day!! ha, ha…then realized that it was to show how much he as grown.

  4. Teeny Tiny cabin

    I have been in situations many times where, while looking, I would begin to feel extremely annoyed, I would then pray and the Lord would help me to be patient, calm down and not get angry or frustrated and then keep looking until I found it. The Most High God has also answered my prayers and helped me find things immediately!Yes, children do grow so fast!(So do grandkids!)Each day with them is precious! Have a great day! In His Service, Your friend, Claudia O.

  5. Kim

    I am so glad I stumbled upon your blog! My husband and oldest daughter just had a missions trip to Japan this past June/July. They went to help an established missionary start a church in a new location. They had a wonderful time. I’ll be back to keep up on how you are doing.

  6. Maggie Ann

    Imagine advertising your high prices…thats an eye catcher all right…=). Thats one happy boy and dog you have there! They look so content and relaxed. =)

Leave a Reply

