The Secret

I read a post recently by Susan P. on a new book that’s out called The Secret. Living where I do, I am out of the loop so I don’t really know anything about this book. Her post was informative to me. I have spent many years looking for the secret to life, love and happiness even after I became a Christian. The day finally came when I realized that I already possessed the secret and I needed to learn more of Him in order to benefit from what I possessed. After reading her post, I immediately thought of one of my favorite recordings.

~~~~~
~
I could not do without Thee,
O Savior of the lost,
Whose precious blood redeemed me,
at such tremendous cost.
Thy righteousness, Thy pardon,
Thy precious blood must be
My only hope and comfort,
my glory and my plea.
~~~
I could not do without Thee,
I cannot stand alone.
I have no strength or goodness,
no wisdom of my own.
But thou, beloved Savior,
Art all in all to me,
And weakness will be power
If leaning hard on Thee.
~~~
I could not do without Thee,
O Jesus, Savior, dear;
E’en when my eyes are ‘holden,
I know that Thou art near.
How dreary and how lonely
This changeful life would be
Without the sweet communion,
the secret rests with Thee.
~~~
I could not do without Thee,
For years are fleeting fast,
And soon in solemn loneness,
The river must be passed.
But Thou wilt never leave me,
And though the waves roll high,
I know Thou wilt be near me,
And whisper, “It is I.”
~
~words by Francis R. Havergal
~~~
The secret of the LORD is with them that fear him;
and he will show them his covenant.
~Psalm 25:14
~~~
For in the time of trouble he shall hide me in his pavilion:
in the secret of his tabernacle shall he hide me;
he shall set me up upon a rock.
~Psalm 27:5
7 thoughts on “The Secret

  1. Debbie

    I love these words and the music, such a comfort to my far from home heart. I too have recently heard about the Secret and was alarmed. This is exactly the post that shows What or better put Who the secret is.

Leave a Reply

