Gifts

I was thinking about gifts today. There are so many that we experience: the love of family and friends, the seasons, our homes and the things in them. All of these are gifts that come from God. Even the joy from the experience is a gift from Him. Sometimes a special gift comes my way and I always thank God for laying it on the heart of the giver. Here are two special gifts that I have received recently.Maggie Ann sent these to me. She made them and they are lovely. The button bracelets are fun to wear and make me think of her. My daughter likes hers too!

This doll was made for me by a dear friend of mine. Years ago we went to doll-making class together. Mine aren’t half as pretty as hers. She is now teaching her own class. I am in the process of making one under her supervision, but it will be a while before I am able to finish it.
The dolls are made from washi paper. The center of the body is a chopstick that is inserted in a black lacquer bottom. My friend does beautiful work! She probably made up this pattern herself. Oh, to be so talented!

If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?
~Matthew 7:11
5 thoughts on “Gifts

  1. Teeny Tiny cabin

    I love what dear Maggie Ann sent you! She is a treasure and I love visiting her blog also! I know you are enjoying them!Also the doll is amazing! What a interesting and rewarding opportunity it is to learn how to do that!

  2. Maggie Ann

    How sweet of you to post a picture of those things! I’m touched…=) (& glad you like them).~~ Your Japanese doll is lovely, so very artistic. Its hard to believe that her clothes are washi paper. I really like the designs on the papers..I’ve always heard that Japanese papers are exquisite. Just from blogging I’ve learned that the Japanese crafting and sewing books are greatly sought after. How fabulous that you are becoming (are) a dollmaker now yourself! The blessings of the Lord are so many and so enriching aren’t they…I’m thankful.

Leave a Reply

