Homemaking Meme A-Z

I’ve read a few of these online and have enjoyed it, so I decided to give it a try. It was fun to think about. I guess when you read this you will know that I’m not the most domestic person. I work at it. Since I am in the middle of language school and learning to live in another culture, I hope you will forgive me. 🙂

Aprons – Y/N? If yes, what does your favorite look like?

Sometimes. My favorite is a pink Japanese style apron that covers
your whole front and buttons in the back.
~~~
Baking – Favorite thing to bake:
Chocolate Pudding Cake and casseroles
~~~
Clothesline – Y/N?
YES! Actually, I have clothes poles with clothespins that clasp around them.
~~~
Donuts – Have you ever made them?
I can’t remember. Probably not.

~~~
Every day – One homemaking thing you do every day:
Remind my kids of their chores.
~~~
Freezer – Do you have a separate deep freeze?
Absolutely!
~~~
Garbage Disposal – Y/N?
No, unless you count the dog.
~~~
Handbook – What is your favorite homemaking resource?
Taste of Home magazines and Better Homes and Gardens.
~~~
Ironing – Love it or Hate it?
Hate it, but I do it because I hate wrinkles more.

Junk Drawer – Y/N?

Yes, in the kitchen and my bedroom.
~~~
Kitchen – Color and decorating scheme?
Very white with wallpaper that has burgundy, pink and purple berries and green vines. I’ve wanted the wallpaper for years and I finally have it. The kitchen is tiny so the white makes it look bigger and brighter.
~~~
Love – What is your favorite part of homemaking?
When the house is clean and laundry folded and put away and I can relax
without looking at something that needs to be done.
~~~

Mop – Y/N?
Yes.
~~~
Nylons – Wash by hand or in the washing machine?
The washing machine in a clothes bag. I hang them up to dry.
~~~

Oven – Do you use the window or open the door to check?
Open the door.
~~~
Pizza – What do you put on yours?
Lots of veggies and pepperoni. I love sliced tomatoes and mushrooms.
~~~
Quiet – What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
Read my Bible or lay down and listen to restful music.
~~~
Recipe card box – Y/N? What does it look like?
Just an ordinary plastic file box with a handle.
~~~
Style of house – What is the style of your house?
It’s a two-story box and only 900 square feet.
~~~
Tablecloths and napkins – Y/N?
I love tablecloths and napkins. Right now I have a lace tablecloth out
that was my grandmother’s. I put clear plastic over it to protect it.
I also use cloth napkins. Paper ones are hard to come by where I live.
~~~

Under the kitchen sink – Organized or toxic wasteland?
A little of both!
~~~
Vacuum – How many times per week?
None. It’s on my kids’ chore list.
~~~
Wash – How many loads of laundry do you do per week?
8-10– Sometimes more.
~~~
X’s – Do you keep a list of things to do that you cross off?
Often. It gives me a sense of accomplishment and
helps me not to forget what I need to do.
~~~

Yard – Y/N? Who does what?
#1 son mows the lawn. #2 son is in training.
I plant and water flowers and do some weeding.
#2 son likes to weed for cash.
~~~

Zzz’s – What is your last homemaking task before going to bed?
Make sure the upstairs toilet has stopped running.
~~~

How about you?
~~~
the garbage disposal
she loves the sun
her name is pixie
~~~
P.S. I was painting the front door today and Pixie started sniffing the paint. She now has blue whiskers! 🙂
5 thoughts on “Homemaking Meme A-Z

  1. RoseMary

    Found you on Teeny Tiny Cabin. I’m interested to see how you organize living in 900 sq ft. Our cabin is 975 plus about 30 sq ft in a storage loft. I’ve lived here 5 years and am still trying to organize! Pixie is adorable and I love your blog.RoseMary

  2. Maggie Ann

    That was fun to read! What a great picture of your Pixie. She looks so perky and pretty. And, we can’t see the blue whiskers..honest..=)

Leave a Reply

