Day Off

I took a much needed day off on Friday and went to a neighboring city to visit a friend. We went to Mino and visited a bread shop and had tea.
I can’t remember the name of what we had, but it was wonderful tea! It was sweet without sugar and had a citrus flavor. We couldn’t decide on bread, so we got two different ones and shared. It’s not in the picture because we already ate it! 🙂

For lunch, she taught me how to make chirashizushi and daikon salad. It was yummy and much easier to make than I thought it would be. (the photo is borrowed and not actually of what we ate) I have learned to love daikon. There is so much you can do with it and it has virtually no calories! I’ve been doing some reading about the Japanese diet. Japanese women do not show their age as quickly as western women and there are not near as many overweight Japanese women. They contribute it to what they eat. I need to take more lessons from these women that I live among!
5 thoughts on “Day Off

  1. Temmy

    Oooooh share the secrets! I have read about their diet before but can’t remember the details. That would make a great post. Hint, hint. 🙂

  2. Teeny Tiny cabin

    Glad to hear you were able to get a lot accomplished when your friend visited you. I know what it is like to live in a small space. I moved last year from a 2400 sq. ft. home to a 650 sq.ft. tiny house (Teeny Tiny Cabin). There are some things about it that might be considered a hardship in this materialistic American culture, but this has been the Lord’s doing and there is much about it that is exciting as I watch the Lord direct our path and I am happy and content to be in His will. Always a joy to be here!Claudia O.

  3. Maggie Ann

    After enjoying your post, picture me here writing down the work ‘daikon’ to do a recipe search on. No calories…sounds fabulous! I’m very interested too. I hope you can share some recipes. Maybe we would have trouble gettting the ingredients over here though. I love blogging…these little visits are smile-makers..for sure!

Leave a Reply

