The Gentle Shepherd

I love music and the Lord has used many songs that teach His Word to speak to my heart. Psalm 23 is one that we all learn as children. I have to confess that I always quoted it lightly. Then I read A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23 and I never quoted it lightly again. I gained a new understanding of what it means to have the Lord as my Shepherd.
Psalm 23
The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He maketh me to lie down in green pastures:
he leadeth me beside the still waters.
He restoreth my soul:
he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil: for thou art with me;
thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.
Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies:
thou anointest my head with oil;
my cup runneth over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life:
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.
~~~~~
“…the staggering fact remains that Christ the Creator of such an enormous universe of overwhelming magnitude, deigns to call Himself my Shepherd and invites me to consider myself His sheep–His special object of affection and attention. Who better could care for me?” ~Phillip Keller, A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23
Gentle Shepherd
Oh, the Lord is my Gentle Shepherd showing me the way.
Through the darkness, through the sunshine,
He will never lead astray.
He is with me ev’ry moment, He’s in my heart to stay.
Oh I feel His arms around me, and I hear Him gently say:
~~~~~
I am the Gentle Shepherd watching over you.
I am the Gentle Shepherd and I’ll surely see you through.
I have been where you’re going and I know what you have to do.
Oh, I am the Gentle Shepherd, and I gave my life for you.
~~~~~
If you’re looking for a Saviour, looking for a friend,
Oh let Jesus be your Shepherd, He will love you till the end.
The door is always open, come now and don’t delay.
And He’ll be your loving Shepherd; He will guide you all the way.
~~~~~
He is the Gentle Shepherd, watching over you.
He is the Gentle Shepherd, and He’ll surely see you through.
He has been where you’re going, and he knows what you have to do.
Oh, He is the Gentle Shepherd, and He gave His life for you.
He is the Gentle Shepherd.
words by Duane Nichols, music by Duane Nichols and Mary Lynn Van Gelderen
recorded on Come and Sing by the Stouffer Men
picture is The Good Shepherd by Bernhard Plockhorst
5 thoughts on “The Gentle Shepherd

  1. Maggie Ann

    What a beautiful song and lyrics. I’ve enjoyed reading them. We got your fence post mailed yesterday…Jan.24th..global mail. Sorry it took me so long but its on the way now..=). Better get to bed,it so late. I should know better than to start a collage at 10;30 pm. but it was going so well, the trouble was I forgot there is such a thing as time!

  2. Teeny Tiny cabin

    I also read “A Shepherd looks a Psalm 23” by Phillip Keller, and felt the same way about it as you. I have never forgotten it!

  3. Chantel Harding

    Thank you, thank you for posting this….. “I have been where you are going, and I know what you have to do”… those words never meant so much as now. :)God bless you…

Leave a Reply

