New Year’s in Japan

New Year’s day is over here, but not the holiday. Everything is closed until the 4th. New Year’s is the biggest holiday of the year. We had our traditional American meal with pork roast, saurkraut and black-eyed peas! Yum! I set a fancy table even though it was just us. Later, my daughter and I watched Pride and Prejudice. It was a fun, quiet day for us.

My husband and I are sick with nasty colds. Mine has settled in my throat. This isn’t so good when we are both involved in my niece’s wedding this weekend. We are praying for a miracle. We found an urgent care office open today and got some unknown medicine. We went on the internet to try to find out what we were taking. Here is the translation of one of them: “It is excited 咳 center and stops the [zu] [me] [te] 咳. 咳 center in the control section of the 咳 which is the medulla oblongata of the brain stem, receiving the stimulus of the throat and the bronchial tube, it makes the 咳 cause. Your this medicine holds down the part of that and shows 鎮 咳 action densely with [mu] thing.Furthermore, increasing the secrete of the bronchial tube, you take the stickiness of the 痰, make easy to spit out the 痰. From that kind of action, it is suited for the 咳 which accompanies the 痰 by the dizziness road flame and the bronchitis etc. It uses for also cold.” I understand perfectly now!! 🙂

Each day has it’s challenges, but we are adjusting and can hardly believe that we have been here over a year now. God is faithful and helps us all along the way!

A few years ago, I was challenged to read and underline all the words for God’s Word in Psalm 119. I read it through several times and the Lord increased my desire for His Word through this study. Maybe you would like to do the same.

Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way?
by taking heed thereto according to thy word.
With my whole heart have I sought thee:
O let me not wander from thy commandments.
Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.
Blessed art thou, O LORD: teach me thy statutes.
With my lips have I declared all the judgments of thy mouth.
I have rejoiced in the way of thy testimonies,
as much as in all riches.
I will meditate in thy precepts, and have respect unto thy ways.
I will delight myself in thy statutes: I will not forget thy word.
Deal bountifully with thy servant, that I may live, and keep thy word.
Open thou mine eyes, that I may behold
wondrous things out of thy law.
~Psalm 119:9-18
*Today I read a very encouraging and thought provoking entry at http://home-place.blogspot.com/. Take a few minutes to read it. You will be glad you did.
5 thoughts on “New Year’s in Japan

  1. Teeny Tiny cabin

    Loved catching up on your blog tonight! I try to read through the Bible in a year too-I use “The MacArthur Daily Bible” It sounds very similar to what you do. I love your study on the Word in Ps. 119-will be doing it too! As always- you are in my prayers., Claudia

  2. Seoul Man

    Hi, Kim,I’m so glad you found our blog. This is our fourth year teaching in a Christian school in Seoul. Where are you in Japan? Our oldest daughter is married to a man in the air force.They are stationed in Misawa. They have a one-year-old–our first grandchild!I’d love to hear about your ministry and your mom and Russ.

  3. Patricia from Pollywog Creek

    I do hope that you and your husband are feeling MUCH and were able to play your parts in the wedding just beautifully! If I remember correctly, there is only one verse in Ps. 119 that does not contain a word for the Word. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

