Happy New Year

I am resolved no longer to linger,
Charmed by the world’s delight;
Things that are higher, things that are nobler–
These have allured my sight.
~Palmer Harstough
~~~~~

There are books that I read over and over. A Place of Quiet Rest by Nancy Leigh DeMoss is going to be added to that list. I have begun reading for a second time. Just the name of the book draws me. Every time I pick up the book and look at the peaceful lakeside scene on the cover, I find myself beathing slower. There is one part that has arrested my attention with the new year approaching and thoughts of resolutions. I have the normal ones that I have every year…lose weight…get more organized…keep a cleaner house…etc. etc. and so forth…With those thoughts in mind, I came to this on page 57…

“By the way, how would you finish that sentence? ‘One thing have I desired of the Lord; that will I seek after: ________________.’ What is the greatest desire and longing of your heart? In the answer to that question lies the explanation for much of what we do–our choices, our priorities, our use of time, the way we spend money, the way we respond to pressure, whom or what we love. David’s answer reveals why God could say, ‘This man’s heart beats like Mine’:

One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to inquire in his temple. (Psalm 27:4 KJV)

In spite of all he possessed, all he had done, all the people he had known, all the places he had been, and all the privileges and opportunities he had enjoyed, David had one supreme, driving passion in life: to walk in intimate union and communion with God. It is as if he were saying, ‘If I can only accomplish one thing in my life, if nothing else gets done, this is the one thing that really matters to me; this is my highest goal and my number one priority; to live in the presence of the Lord, to look on His beauty, and to learn from Him. I want to know Him, to love Him, to have an intimate relationship with Him. That’s the one thing in my life that matters most. And that is the one thing I am going to pursue above all others.’

…David had his flaws. He blew it in some of the most crucial relationships of life. But this Lover-God would not let him go. With a confronting, convicting, consuming, cleansing love, God pursued His beloved. At points, one might have wondered, Why does God bother with him? The answer is the same reason He bothers with us–because He is a Lover in pursuit of relationship–a God who never stops loving and pursuing.”

When you consider this great love that God has for us, shouldn’t knowing Him be the supreme goal that we have for this new year and for the rest of our lives?

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. Patricia from Pollywog Creek

    Amen! Great post, Kim! May you know the Lord in greater measure – more and more – in the year to come! Blessings ~ Patricia

Leave a Reply

