900 Square Feet

Welcome to my new blog! I have found many friends in the blog world. I have been encouraged and received helpful information. I decided to venture out and start a blog of my own. I am hoping that I might be an encouragement to some of you as you have been to me.

The 10/40 window stands for the latitude and longitude that encompasses Asia, Russia, etc. that hasn’t been evangelized. The Lord has called my family to Japan to work in our small part of this very large window!

My name…Senkyoushi…is Japanese for “missionary.”

My address was chosen because we live in a 900 square foot house! I never thought I could do it, but I am learning to scale down. Everything in Japan is small. Small houses, small cars, small roads, small clothes, small shoes, small shopping carts, etc…..We did major work on our house when we moved in. If you would like to see pictures of the makeover, click on the link for Kim’s Kodak Korner and choose the ‘House in Japan’ album. I try to update this site regularly with photos. I will try to share some here occasionally.

The verse in my heading is a very special verse to me. As a Christian wife, I must follow the leadership of my husband. When my husband told me he thought the Lord was calling us to Japan, I couldn’t say that He called me too. I knew I was to follow my husband’s leadership and that my place was with him. This is my calling. I asked the Lord to give me a verse that I could hang onto when the going got tough and I might doubt His calling on my life. This was the verse that He gave me. My life is not about me. It is all about the one who died for me! It is my daily prayer that I will live my life for Him.

And so…I have many interests and hobbies. For now, most of these have taken a backseat to language study and learning to live in this culture. This consumes most of my time at the present, but I know this is what the Lord has for me now. I can live in Japan without speaking Japanese, but I long to be able to teach Japanese women the Bible in their own language.

My husband is already fluent in Japanese since he grew up here as a missionary kid. My oldest child is quite conversant in the language since he attended Japanese elementary school for 3 years. He is also attending language school to fulfill his high school foreign language requirement. I envy his ability to read and write kanji! Maybe someday, I will be able to do the same. My other two children are trying to remember what they learned in elementary school. We had to return to the states for a time and so this caused them forget a lot. 😦

Your prayers for our family would be appreciated as we serve the Lord in Japan.

2 thoughts on “900 Square Feet

Leave a Reply

